2024 Bernard Lown Award for Social Responsibility Dinner

From a highly competitive list of nominees, Dr. Lilia Cervantes has been selected as the winner of the 2024 Bernard Lown Award for Social Responsibility (BLASR) for her exceptional work advancing health equity and expanding access to care for undocumented immigrants. Dr. Cervantes is the Director of Immigrant Health and a professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

The BLASR Award Dinner was held on the evening of June 6th at the Branch Line Restaurant in Watertown, MA which features an elegant outdoor space for our cocktail hour and dinner program. Space is limited.

This inspiring and uplifting event allowed connection with other leaders in support of compassionate healthcare, social justice, and humanitarian values!

Watch the event recording


*member of selection committee

Vikas Saini, MD
Vikas Saini, MD*

President, Lown Institute

Patricia Gabow, MD*

Chairperson, Lown Institute Board of Directors

Zachary Lown
Zachary Lown*

Lown Family Representative

Vikas Saini, MD
David Bor

Board Member, Lown Institute

Theodore Calianos
Theodore Calianos, MD

Immediate Past President, Massachusetts Medical Society

Zachary Lown
Brian Campbell

Executive Director, Physicians for Social Responsibility

Vikas Saini, MD
Jeff Carter

Executive Director, Clean Water Action

Theodore Calianos
Harry Hayman

Trustee, Hayman Family Foundation

Zachary Lown
Yolanda Lawson, MD, FACOG

Chair, Board of Trustees, National Medical Association

Vikas Saini, MD
Aletha Maybank

Chief Equity Officer, American Medical Association

Theodore Calianos
Cassandra McCullough

Chief Executive Officer, Association of Black Cardiologists, Inc.

Zachary Lown
Darilyn V. Moyer, MD

Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, American College of Physicians

Vikas Saini, MD
Susan Rogers

President, Physicians for a National Health Program

Theodore Calianos
Altaf Saadi, MD

Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, 2023 BLASR Winner

Zachary Lown
Annelisa Silva, EdM

President, American Medical Student Association (starting May 2024)

Theodore Calianos
Rohini Siva

President, American Medical Student Association




David Bor, MD
Breck Eagle
James L. Joslin
Vikas Saini, MD


Nassib & Maureen Chamoun


American College of Physicians
Minority Health Institute
Greater Boston Physicians for Social Responsibility
Physicians for a National Health Program

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities (pdf). For sponsorship or other questions, contact lownaward@lowninstitute.org or (617) 992-9361.